Music Quiets The Demons

Like most writers, I shut the world out by listening to music while I write.  It works best using a good set of earphones that’ll shut EVERYTHING out around me.  My goal is to get a set of Bose Noise Cancelling headphones sometime.  That ought to quiet the demons, around me, completely.

As for the type of music, I go for an epic score or epic music collection.  If I have a clear enough vision of the type of scene I’ll be writing that day, I’ll grab a score that is reflective of the tone of that scene.  For example, I wrote the scene in which Carson Lyle, Kagan, Dex and Varga stole Carson’s ship back from Authority Impound and escaped from El Dorado while listening to tracks 1-3 of the Star Trek: Into Darkness score.

In general, any good collection of music from AudioMachine, Two Steps From Hell, or anything similar will do.  There are endless compilations and mixes to pick from on Youtube.  but if I’m in the mood for something a little more random, I have a channel for such things on Pandora.

My current favorite collection to listen to while writing is below.  It’s a fantastic mix using a lot more obscure pieces and has a great Epic Action, Adventure feel to it.  Hence, the title.

 

Leave a Reply

